top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna

Last Week Before Hand-In


This week seemed to fly by. My main focus was on our hand in that the end of the week. For that we needed to upload our reflective blog post. Our brief was to reflect on the whole honours project, as well as including our one great image, our 100 words and the one-minute video. This meant that all of these things had to be done by Friday.


I already finished editing my image last week so that was already done. Therefore, I spent the beginning of the week finishing my video. My main problem was that while I had a general story planned out, everything seemed chopped off and there was no real flow. I had to fiddle quite a bit with the positioning of all the video sequences and my text.



However, I am very pleased with the outcome of it. I got a couple of people to watch the video and give me feedback and everyone said that they really enjoyed watching it and it perfectly summarises my project.


Additionally, I also finalised my 100 words describing my project. I had completely forgotten to update the 100 words that I had previously written. It was a little tricky to squeeze all my project into just a couple of words but in the end, I think I managed to find the right words to do so. This is my final 100 words:


Why have we not found a replacement for single use plastic yet? We are not unknown to the fact that plastic waste is polluting our oceans, disfiguring and killing our animals, yet we still continue to dump our plastic.


Ozean is a small solution to this big problem! An innovative, low-impact manufacturing technique allows plastic waste to be reshaped into kitchen knife handles. This allows easy recycling, as approximately 40 bottle caps are reshaped into one handle. Ozean is the start to making our waste useful instead of polluting our world!


Lastly, I also came up with a possible solution to my issue with the packaging. The first idea I had was to basically extend the sides of the box by sitting a plastic frame on top of your bamboo. I built a special mould that would allow me to create said frame. However, when I took the plastic out of the oven and pressed it into the mould I already knew that it was not going to turn out well. The problem was that the plastic was not properly filling out all the corners. None of it was evenly spread out and I knew I did not have the time to perfect this option.



After stressing some more, I came up with another alternative. I could create a handle at the end of the bamboo cover. This would include a bit of plastic on the outside, the shape will be easy to press into a mould and I will also get a bit more height when rolling up the bamboo to create the stand. All in all, this sounds like the perfect solution in my opinion. I did not get around to testing this this week, but this will be the first think I will do next week.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page