top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna

Colour Mixing!


I started my off this week with my Mark 1 Presentation. As you would have probably read in my last blog post, I found the presentation quite motivational to continue with the next steps of my project.


After that, I sat down to work on possible colour combinations. I did not want to just randomly mix colours together, but rather do it in a more organised manner. I created a document, where I listed all the colours that I had available and then tried to figure out combinations that could work well together.

The melting of the individual pieces took a bit of time because each combination needed a sufficient time in the oven and I also had to wait until the plastic block had cooled off in the mould before I could add a new piece of plastic. Nevertheless, I did manage to get all previously specified colour combinations melted this week.


Generally, I prefer colour combinations that contain a bit of blue in them. I feel like they visually relate to my focus on water. My favourite piece at the minute is the one with only light and dark blue. However, because none of them are cut and sanded down, I feel like it is unfair to select the best colour combination just yet. I will select the best colour combination(s) next week once all of the blocks have been worked on.


While I waited for the plastic to cool off, I continued to work on my branding. I had previously tried to design logos, but I did not like any logo that I had come up with. This time I decided to research what logos of existing environmental companies look like and draw inspiration from those. Below you can see my logo designs that I’ve come up with so far.

While I like certain aspects of the logos, such as the colour pallet, I still do not think that these are exactly what I am looking for. They are either too simple, do not express my project focus, or are too detailed for a logo. Over the next weeks, I will just continue working and editing them whenever I have time and hopefully at one point I manage to create the perfect logo for this project.


For next week, I’m hoping to cut and sand my melted blocks of plastic and from there figure out which colour combination I like best. I also want to possibly scale up the prototypes to be able to determine things like the needed thickness of the table top, how to attach the legs and what shape I want my final table top to have.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page