top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna

Product Development

I started this week by melting plastic into the large moulds, that I had made last week. I am currently still deciding on what to do with my product, but I did not want that decision to prevent me to explore plastic further. Unfortunately, neither one of the two prototypes were very successful. I underestimated how much material would be necessary for such big pieces and therefore none of them fill out the moulds all the way to the edges.



However, I realised how strong and sturdy plastic is as a material. Both prototypes are around 13 and 15 millimetres thick and can both easily withstand high pressure without breaking.


Simultaneously, I worked on trying to figure out what my final product should be. Last week I had given myself the ultimatum of finding a product by the end of this week. For the first couple of days I simply brainstormed ideas, but I felt like none of them were realistic, would allow my focus to stay on the material or they just weren’t good enough for an honours project.


I eventually narrowed down my decision to two options: the side table and handles for kitchen tools (e.g. knives). I had researched the market of kitchen gadgets and realised that it is quite lucrative, particularly due to the current health trend that has inspired more people to want to cook at home. I also realised that the current tool trend is to divert away from plastic products, meaning a lot of plastic-free alternatives are available.

While looking at kitchen tools on the market, I discovered that only one company used recycled plastic. However, ‘Robinson Home Products’ focus on making spatulas and serving spoons. No company, that I could find, create their handles out recycled plastic. Henceforth, there clearly is a gap in the market.


The fact that a handful of tables made out of recycled plastic already but handles made from recycled plastic do not helped me to decide on a product. I rather want to do something new, than something that already exists. Now my new product will be handles!


Once I had made up my mind, the preparation for making moulds happened relatively quickly. I started off by looking at various different designs that existed on the market and then sketched out a couple of ideas.


To get a feel for what knife handles should be shaped like, I started making blue foam models.



During that process, I realised that none of my models supported the hand while cutting. Some of them were hard to grip, with another one my fingers kept on sliding around. Henceforth, I realised that I needed an ergonomic shape that ensured easy use. Researching ergonomic handles, I realised that there are a couple of design aspects that I needed to consider. I used the surgeon Dr. Kyle Ver Steegs research for the base of my design. Below you can see my final design with the reasoning for each individual feature.



Once the design had been sorted, I started making another blue foam model to get a feel for what that shape would feel like in my hand.



Personally, I really liked the shape. I had no discomforts while holding the handle and I felt like this handle would be easy to use, even over a long period of time.


Lastly, in order to further understand plastic and see how easy it is to shape organic shapes out of it, I attempted to make a very basic handle out of one of the previous trial pieces.



Overall, it was quite easy to make organic shapes. Plastic can effortlessly be cut with a saw and be sanded into shape. Now I know that if I am not able to make a mould with the perfect shape, I can always melt a simple rectangle and shape it myself.


For next week, I will start making the moulds and hopefully make a couple of prototypes. I have already ordered a couple of blades to play with, but I want to have made a couple of handle prototypes before I start incorporating a blade.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page