top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna

Video and Image Shooting Week


This week started off with my attempts of sanding down all my prototypes. While a textured grip might be great from a grip point of view but the handles look half-finished without the glossy appearance. Talking to the workshop technicians, I had found a sanding method to straighten the rough surface after pressing the plastic into the mould. However, they did not have any other machines that allowed me to get a finer finish. Henceforth, I started off by sanding down the handles by hand.


However, this proved to be a very long process. I realised that plastic requires pressure and heat to sand down the surface with ease. Both of these are not necessarily achievable while sanding the surface by hand. To be more time efficient, I decided to invest in a sanding machine.



This machine is amazing. The end result is a lot smoother than anything I could have achieved by hand and it ensures I can use my time a lot more efficient.


Additionally, I also decided to take product shots for my one great image and film video sequences this week. I flew home for a couple of days and since the kitchen at home fits the sleek, light and minimalistic aesthetics that I wanted the kitchen to have, I ceased the opportunity. The outcome was great, particularly for the video sequences. I got various different shots of people cutting and handling the knives. I decided to mainly use my mum and cousin for the video sequences because I wanted to demonstrate that these knives can be used by anyone, no matter what age.



I was also able to get various different shots for the one great image. This was a little trickier to shoot than the video. When people hold a knife they naturally cover the handle, which is exactly the element I want to focus on. Since the video does not just capture one second, I was able to show both the handle and its use. Unfortunately, it was not that simple for the image. However, I think I managed to capture several different good images!



Now I just need to decide which one I like best. This choice will not be easy because there is not one single image that sticks out. All of them sort of work, but each one as elements that I can critique.


For next week, the plan is to create further prototypes, as well as to start building the packaging. Simultaneously, I will be filming and editing the one-minute video, deciding on one of my images and continue working on the booklet. It is getting closer to our hand-in and I am hoping to start getting deliverables done very soon.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page